Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Credential

The Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) is a registered nurse who:

  • Holds an RN license in Kentucky or another compact state
  • Holds a SANE credential issued by KBN
  • Is trained in the forensic examination of individuals 14 years or older who have been the victim of sexual assault
  • Collects and preserves evidence and testifies in legal proceedings​ in accordance with Kentucky law. 

Applications and documents are reviewed within 14 days.  However if you respond "Yes" to the disciplinary or conviction questions it can take up to 3 months for processing your application.


Initial SANE Credential

All fingerprint cards and fees received at KBN will be returned to the applicant.  Initial fingerprint card and fee of $13.25 must be mailed to the Kentucky State Police at: 

Kentucky State Police
Records Branch
1266 Louisville Road 
Frankfort, KY  40601

Requirements:

Contact the Program's Coordinator for questions on obtaining a SANE credential.

Fees are subject to change and NON-REFUNDABLE.


Reinstatement of a SANE Credential

Requirements:

Fees are subject to change and NON-REFUNDABLE.


Application Status

Follow the status of your application to quickly see: 

  • What documents are needed for licensure, OR
  • When a SANE credential is issued.

Supporting documents may be faxed to 502-429-3336

  • Faxed copies of applications will not be accepted.
  • Allow up to 4 business days for staff review of all documents received.

Validate a License

Validate that a credential has been issued and the expiration date for free.

  • Allow 14 business days for a credential to be issued after all requirements are met.
​​​​
​​

Contact Us...

SANE Program Coordinator Contact Form

See Also...

Brochure: Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Program 
[PDF Format - 23KB]

HIV NPEP Plan of Action [PDF Format - 2 MB]
Provides an overview of assessment and treatment recommendations for victims of sexual violence.  

SAFE Exams Guide [PDF Format - 2 MB]
Contains information to assist in complying with state and federal laws regarding sexual assault examinations.

Click this link for a list of SANE education program dates.

For questions regarding SANE education programs, contact Melissa Edlin at 502-226-2704.