The purpose of mandatory continuing education (CE)/competency, as cited in the Kentucky Nursing Laws (KRS 314), is to require evidence of the nurse’s efforts to maintain and update nursing knowledge and skills needed to make competent judgments and decisions in nursing practice, nursing administration, nursing education, and/or nursing research.
2017 - 2018 CE Brochure
The 2017 - 2018 CE Brochure
is a printable, two-page reference of the Kentucky Board of Nursing Continuing Education (CE)/Compliance requirements. Click the link below to access the 2017 - 2018 CE Brochure
Mandatory CE Table
Click on the link below to access the Mandatory CE Table.
Approved/Accepted CE Providers
Click on the link below to access a list of Kentucky Board of Nursing approved CE providers.
If a continuing education course is offered by a provider that is approved by one of the national nursing organizations listed below or any state board of nursing, it will be accepted by the KBN for the same number of contact hours:
- American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP)
- American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN)
- American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA)
- American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)
- American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) of the American Nurses Association (ANA)
- Association of Women's Health, Obstetrical and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)
- National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH)
- National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates and Practitioners (NAPNAP)
- National Association for Practical Nurse Education & Service (NAPNES)
- National Association of Licensed Practical Nurses (NALPN)
- National League for Nursing (NLN)
- Other State Boards of Nursing
Licensure Renewal Requirements
The CE earning period for the 2018 licensure renewal is November 1, 2017 through October 31, 2018. According to 201 KAR 20:215, validation of CE/competency must include one of the following:
- Proof of earning 14 approved contact hours, OR
- A national certification or recertification related to the nurse's practice role (in effect during the entire period or initially earned during the period), OR
- Completion of a nursing research project as principal investigator, coinvestigator, or project director. Must be qualitative or quantitative in nature, utilize research methodology, and is evidenced by an abstract of the project, which includes a summary of the findings; OR
- Publication of a nursing related article in a peer-reviewed health-related journal; OR
- A nursing continuing education presentation that is developed by the presenter, presented to nurses or other health professionals, and evidenced by a program brochure, course syllabi, or a letter from the offering provider identifying the licensee’s participation as the presenter of the offering; OR
- Participation as a preceptor for at least one nursing student or new employee undergoing orientation (must be for at least 120 hours, have a one-to-one relationship with student or employee, may precept more than one student during the 120 hours, and preceptorship shall be evidenced by written documentation from the educational institution or preceptor’s supervisor); OR
- Proof of earning 7 approved contact hours, PLUS a nursing employment evaluation that is satisfactory for continued employment (must be signed by supervisor with the name, address, and phone number of the employer included), and cover at least 6 months of the earning period (November 1, 2017 through October 31, 2018).
- Certain college courses may be used to meet the CE requirements. Nursing courses, designated by a nursing course number, and academic courses that are applicable to the nurse's role will count toward CE hours, as long as the courses are beyond the prelicensure curriculum.
Note: One semester credit hour equals 15 contact hours; one quarter hour equals 12 contact hours.
APRNs Must Earn Pharmacology CE
Please Note: APRNs may use their national nursing certification to satisfy the fourteen (14) contact hours of continuing education needed for RN license renewal each year as long as the certification was initially attained during the licensure period, or has been in effect during the entire licensure period, or has been recertified during the licensure period.
In addition to the above, APRNs are required to earn five (5) approved contact hours of pharmacology continuing education each licensure period.
APRNs with a CAPA-CS are required to earn one and a half (1.5) approved CE contact hours on the use of KASPER, pain management, or addiction disorders. The 1.5 contact hours on the use of KASPER, pain management, or addiction disorders may count as part of the required five (5) pharmacology contact hours.
Please view this page for free training opportunities regarding House Bill 1 provided by CECentral.
Pharmacology CE contact hours earned from a provider that is recognized by one of these National Nursing Organizations will be acceptable to meet the APRN pharmacology requirement of 201 KAR 20:215.
SANE Must Earn Sexual Assault CE
Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) credentialed nurses are required to earn five (5) contact hours of approved sexual assault CE each licensure period (forensic medicine or domestic violence CE will meet this requirement). The five (5) contact hours earned in forensic medicine or domestic violence may count as part of the required 14 contact hours of CE needed for licensure renewal.