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NURSING CONTINUING EDUCATION/COMPLIANGE

PURPOSE

The purpose of mandatory continuing education (CE)/compliance, as cited in the Kentucky Nursing Laws (KRS 314), is to require evidence
of the nurse’s efforts to maintain and update nursing knowledge and skills needed to make competent judgments and decisions in
nursing practice, nursing administration, nursing education, and/or nursing research.

Renewal Requirements: All nurses must validate the CE/competency requirement every year to renew their nursing license.

WHEN

The CE/competency earning period is the same as the licensure period, November 1 through October 31 of each year.

LICENSURE & EARNING PERIOD: FOR RENEWAL OF LICENSE BY: # OF CONTACT HOURS:
11/01/2019 - 10/31/2020 10/31/2020 14 or equivalent

Online and/or Home Self-Study CE

Regardless of state of residence, nurses may earn all (or any combination of) contact hours from online or self-study home course offerings
approved or recognized by the KBN (see list of National Organizations recognized by KBN for approval of CE offerings).

HOW TO EARN CONTINUING EDUCATION

Pursuant to Kentucky Administrative Regulation 201 KAR 20:215, validation of CE/competency must include one of the following (options

CANNOT be combined to equal fourteen (14) contact hours):

1. Proof of earning fourteen (14) approved contact hours; OR

2. Proof of earning seven (7) approved contact hours, PLUS a nursing employment evaluation that is satisfactory for continued
employment. Evaluation must be signed by the nurse's supervisor and include the employer's name, address, and phone number.
The evaluation must cover at least six (6) months of the earning period (November 1 - October 31); OR

3.  Current national certification or recertification related to the nurse’s practice role in effect during the entire period, or initially earned or
renewed during the period (does not include clinical certifications such as ACLS, PALS, NRP, etc...); OR

4.  Successful completion of a postlicensure academic course at a college, university, or postsecondary vocational
institution. Must be relevant to nursing practice (e.g. nursing course designated by a nursing course number and
beyond the prelicensure curriculum) OR an academic course applicable to the nurse's role and beyond the prelicensure
curriculum. The course must have been completed during the earning period with an awarded grade of "C" or better,
or a grade of "pass" on a pass-fail grading system. Calculation of contact hours: One (1) semester or trimester hour
of academic credit = 15 contact hours; One (1) quarter hour of academic credit = 12 contact hours. May request
course review for approval of applicable nursing content pursuant to 201 KAR 20:215 Section 7; OR

5. Participation as a preceptor for at least one nursing student or new employee. Must be for at least 120 hours, have
a one-to-one relationship with student or employee, may precept more than one student during the 120 hours.
Preceptorship shall be evidenced by written documentation from the educational institution or preceptor's supervisor; OR

6. Publication of an article in a peer-reviewed, health-related journal; OR

7. A nursing continuing education presentation that is designed and developed by the presenter, presented to nurses or
other health professionals, is evidenced by a program brochure, course syllabi, or a letter from the offering provider
identifying the licensee as the presenter of the offering; and offered by a provider approved pursuant to 201 KAR
20:220. The number of contact hours earned shall be twice the number of contact hours offered to presentation
attendees; OR

8. Completion of a nursing research project as principal investigator, coinvestigator, or project director. Must be qualitative
or quantitative in nature, utilize research methodology, and increases knowledge resulting in improved outcomes or changes in
behavior. Submission must include a project abstract and a summary of the findings

Not Accepted as CE:

e Prelicensure general education courses, either electives or those designated to meet degree requirements.
e Activities that are part of an employing agency's staff development program designed to provide information related to the work
setting; on-the-job training, orientation, basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation (BLS/CPR), or equipment demonstrations.

APRN CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

An APRN's board certification satisfies the fourteen (14) contact hour requirement needed for RN licensure renewal (national certification),
as long as the APRN certification was initially attained during the licensure period, has been in effect during the entire licensure period, or
has been renewed during the licensure period. If these requirements are met, APRNs do not need to earn 14 contact hours of CE to
renew their RN licenses.

Pharmacology CE: Five (5) contact hours of approved pharmacology CE must be earned by all APRNs each licensure period. CE
Certificates should reflect specific pharmacology contact hours awarded. To qualify as pharmacology, content shall include drug-specific
information, safe prescribing practices, safe medication administration, prescribing methodologies, new regulations, or similar topics.
Objectives for the contact hours related to pharmacology shall be identified. Casual mention of medications or medical treatments shall
not qualify.

APRNs with a CAPA-CS: Of the five (5) approved pharmacology contact hours required for APRN licensure renewal, one and one-half
(1.5) of these approved contact hours must be on the use of KASPER, pain management, or addiction disorders each licensure period.
These hours may count as part of the required five (5) pharmacology contact hours.

In addition to the standard methods of CE approval, APRNs are allowed to use continuing medical education (CME) credits for
pharmacology (provided the credits are pharmacology-related), if the provider offering the course is recognized by their national
certifying organization (e.g. AANP, ANCC, etc...) 01/2020
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LPN AND RN MANDATORY CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

Domestic Violence CE: Three (3) contact hours of approved domestic violence CE must be earned within three (3) years of Kentucky
licensure by nurses who are either seeking licensure by endorsement from another state or licensure by examination for candidates
educated outside of Kentucky. Nurses who graduated from a Kentucky nursing program AFTER MAY 1998 are not required to complete
this continuing education activity as the content was included within the nursing program's curriculum. This is a one-time requirement.

Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma (Shaken Baby Syndrome) CE: One and one-half (1.5) contact hours of approved CE as
required by KRS 314.073(6) covering the recognition and prevention of pediatric abusive head trauma must be earned within
three (3) years of Kentucky licensure by nurses who are either seeking licensure by endorsement from another state or licensure by
examination for candidates educated outside of Kentucky. Nurses who graduated from a Kentucky nursing program AFTER
DECEMBER 2011 are not required to complete this continuing education activity as the content was included within the nursing
program's curriculum. This is a one-time requirement.

CE APPROVAL

KBN approves providers to offer nursing CE contact hours. These providers are assigned a KBN approval number formatted as X-
XXXX and an approval expiration date. If the provider from which a nurse wants to take, or has taken, CE has an approval number and
current expiration date (as of the course date), the hours will be accepted toward his or her renewal. A list of KBN-approved providers
("CE Provider List") can be found on the KBN website at: https://kbn.ky.gov/ce/Pages/ceformspubs.aspx. Additionally, if a CE course is
offered by a provider that is approved by one of the national nursing organizations listed below or any state board of nursing, it will be
accepted by the KBN for the same number of contact hours:

NATIONAL NURSING ORGANIZATIONS RECOGNIZED BY KBN FOR APPROVAL OF CE OFFERINGS:

American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) National Federation of Licensed Practical Nurses (NFLPN)
National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH) American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) of the
American Assn. of Critical Care Nurses (AACN) American Nurses Association (ANA)

Nat'l Assn. of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP) National League for Nursing (NLN)

American Assn. of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA) Association of Women's Health, Obstetric, and Neonatal
Nat'l Assn. for Practical Nurses Education & Service (NAPNES) Nurses (AWHONN)

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) Other State Boards of Nursing

SANE CREDENTIAL REQUIREMENTS

Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) credentialed nurses are required to earn five (5) contact hours of approved sexual assault
CE each licensure period required by 201 KAR 20:411, Section 8. Forensic medicine or domestic violence CE will meet this
requirement. These hours may count as part of the required fourteen (14) contact hours of continuing education needed for renewal of
the RN license.

VERIFYING CE/COMPETENCY - Certificates

A continuing education offering shall not be repeated within a licensure period. Licensees should retain all copies of certificates
of attendance/completion (grade reports, pass-fail certificates, or other documents) verifying successful completion of CE/
competency offerings for a minimum of five (5) years. Copies of mandatory continuing education requirements (e.g. Domestic
Violence and Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma) should be retained for as long as a nurse holds a current/active license in Kentucky.

A certificate of attendance/completion shall specify: Name of Participant; Offering title, date, and location; Number of
contact hours awarded; the approval source (KBN or other KBN recognized approver). At the time of license renewal, an
applicant is required to certify that he/she has met (or will meet by October 31) the required CE/competency earnings.
Certificates should be maintained and submitted to the KBN ONLY if specifically requested. Following each licensure renewal
period, individuals are randomly selected for an audit. Those individuals selected for audit will be required to submit copies of CE
certificates to validate completion of approved CE/competency requirements. The Board reserves the right to request proof of
compliance with CE/competency requirements from any and all licensees at anytime.

What if a continuing education (CE) activity is not recognized by the KBN: Individual Review

An individual review may be requested for non-approved continuing education activity that was completed during the earning period. Within
thirty (30) days after the expiration of the immediate past licensure period, an Individual Request for Review of CE Activities application

and $10 fee should be submitted to the KBN. The application for Individual Review can be obtained on the KBN website at:
http://kbn.ky.gov/ce/Pages/ceformspubs.aspx. Within approximately eight (8) weeks of receipt of the submitted materials and fee,
the KBN will notify the individual of the review outcome, (e.g. approval or rejection). The KBN Notification of CE/Competency Approval
should be retained for a minimum of five (5) years. Individual review is not required if an offering is approved for continuing
education by the KBN or an organization recognized by the KBN (see list of National Organizations recognized by KBN
for approval of CE offerings).

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

For additional information, visit the KBN website at http://kbn.ky.gov/ce or contact Michelle Gary, Practice Assistant &
Continuing Competency Coordinator, at 502-429-3333 or michellea.gary@ky.gov.
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