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KENTUCKY BOARD OF NURSING           2022-2023 
 
 

PURPOSE 
The purpose of mandatory continuing education (CE)/compliance, as cited in the Kentucky Nursing Laws (KRS 
314), is to require evidence of the nurse’s efforts to maintain and update nursing knowledge and skills needed to 
make competent judgments and decisions in nursing practice, nursing administration, nursing education, and/or 
nursing research.  
 
 

RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS: All nurses must complete the CE/competency requirement every year to renew their 
nursing license. 

 

 

WHEN - The CE/competency earning period is the same as the licensure period, November 1 through October 31  

of each year. 
 

ANNUAL RN AND LPN CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL 
 

 

EARNING CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 

Pursuant to Kentucky Administrative Regulation 201 KAR 20:215, validation of CE/competency must include one of 

the  following:   (Options CANNOT be combined to equal fourteen (14) contact hours): 

 

1. Proof of earning fourteen (14) approved contact hours.  “Completion certificates are required*; OR 

 

2. Proof of earning seven (7) approved contact hours, and a nursing employment evaluation satisfactory for 

continued employment.  Completion certificates are required for the seven (7) contact hours and the KBN 

Continuing Education Nursing Employment Evaluation Form completed and signed by the nurse's supervisor 

including the employer's name, address, and phone number verifying satisfactory employment covering at least 

six (6) months of the earning period (November 1 - October 31) This form is available in the document library. OR 

 

3. Current national certification or recertification related to the nurse’s practice role in effect during the entire period, or 

initially earned or renewed during the period (does not include clinical certifications such as ACLS, PALS, NRP, 

etc...); OR 

 

4. Successful completion of a post licensure academic course at a college, university, or postsecondary vocational 

institution. Must be relevant to nursing practice. (e.g. nursing course designated by a nursing course number) or 

applicable to the nurse’s role and beyond the prelicensure curriculum) The course must have been completed 

during the earning period with grade of "C" or higher, or a grade of "pass" on a pass-fail grading system awarded. 

Calculation of contact hours: One (1) semester or trimester hour of academic credit = 15 contact hours; One (1) 

quarter hour of academic credit = 12 contact hours.  A transcript is required; OR 

 

5. Participation as a preceptor for at least one nursing student or new employee.  Must be for at least 120 hours, have 

a one-to-one relationship with student or employee, during the earning period.  The nurse may precept more than 

one student during the 120 hours. Preceptorship shall be evidenced by submission of a Preceptor Continuing 

Education Verification Form comple ted by  the educational institution or preceptor’s supervisor.  This form is 

available in the document library. OR  

 

6. Publication of an article in a peer-reviewed, health related journal. A copy of the article is required; OR 
 

7. A nursing continuing education presentation that is designed and developed by the nurse presenter, presented to 

nurses or other health professionals, is evidenced by a program  brochure, course syllabi, or a letter from the 

offering provider identifying the licensee  as the presenter of the offering; and offered by a provider approved 

pursuant to 201 KAR 20:220.  The number of contact hours  earned shall be twice the number of contact hours 

offered to presentation attendees; OR 

 

8. Completion of a nursing research project as principal investigator, coinvestigator, or project director.  Must be 

qualitative or quantitative in nature; utilize research methodology, and increases knowledge resulting in improved 

outcomes or changes in behavior. Submission must include a project abstract and a summary of the findings. 
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ANNUAL APRN CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL 
 

An APRN's board certification satisfies the fourteen (14) contact hour requirement needed for RN licensure renewal 
(national certification), as long as the APRN certification was initially attained during the licensure period, has been in 
effect during the entire licensure period, or has been renewed during the licensure period. If these requirements are 
met, APRNs do not need to earn 14 contact hours of CE to renew their RN licenses. 
 

Pharmacology CE: All APRNs must complete at least five (5) contact hours of approved pharmacology CE each 

licensure/earning period. CE Certificates should reflect specific pharmacology contact hours awarded. To qualify as 

pharmacology, content shall include drug-specific information, safe prescribing practices, safe medication 

administration, prescribing methodologies, new regulations, or similar topics. Objectives for the contact hours related 

to pharmacology shall be identified. Casual mention of medications or medical treatments shall not qualify. 

 

APRNs with a CAPA-CS: Pursuant to 201 KAR 20:215(5)(1)(b), of the five (5) approved pharmacology contact 

hours required for APRN licensure renewal, one and one-half (1.5) of these contact hours must be in the dual subject 

of pharmacology and either pain management or addiction disorders each licensure period. (Amendments to 

regulations 201 KAR 20:215 and 201 KAR 20:065 are being reviewed and pending.)  

 

 
ANNUAL SANE CREDENTIAL CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL 

 
Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) credentialed nurses are required to earn five (5) contact hours of approved 
sexual assault CE each licensure period required by 201 KAR 20:411, Section 8. Forensic medicine or domestic 
violence CE will meet this requirement. These hours may count as part of the required fourteen (14) contact hours 
of continuing education needed for renewal of the RN license. 
 

MANDATORY ONE-TIME ONLY CONTENT SPECIFIC CE REQUIREMENTS 
 

Domestic Violence CE: Three (3) contact hours of approved CE addressing the dynamics and effects of domestic 

violence, and elder abuse, neglect and exploitation on adult and child victims as required by KRS 194A.540 and 201 

KAR 20:215. Nurses who graduated from a Kentucky nursing program AFTER MAY 1998 are not required to 

complete this continuing education activity, as the content was included within the nursing program's curriculum. RNs 

and LPNs who completed a nursing program outside of Kentucky or have not completed a course in domestic violence 

must complete this requirement within (3) years of licensure.  

 
Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma (Shaken Baby Syndrome) CE:  One and one-half (1.5) contact hours of 

approved CE as required by KRS 314.073(6) covering the recognition and prevention of pediatric abusive head 

trauma. Nurses who graduated from a Kentucky nursing program AFTER DECEMBER 2011 are not required to 

complete this continuing education activity, as the content was included within the nursing program's curriculum. 

RNs and LPNs who completed a program of nursing prior to December of 2011 or completed a program of 

nursing outside of Kentucky must complete this requirement within three (3) years of licensure.  

 
Suicide Prevention CE: Two (2) contact hours of approved CE addressing suicide prevention, which must address 
chronic toxic stress, secondary traumatic stress potentially increasing the incidence of suicide amongst nurses; a 
confidential and standardized pathway to care for nurses that addresses screening, assessing, safety planning, 
referrals, and follow-up for nurses at risk for suicide; systems of care, evidence-informed approaches, and best 
practices to reduce suicide rates; and ethical legal considerations of caring for patients and nurses who are suicidal.  
Nurses who completed a Kentucky program of nursing AFTER AUGUST 2023 are not required to complete this 
continuing education activity.  Nurses who completed a program of nursing prior to August of 2023 or a program of 
nursing outside of Kentucky must complete this requirement within three (3) years of initial licensure. 
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CE PROVIDERS 
 

KBN approved CE providers are issued a provider number and expiration date.  A list of KBN-approved CE providers is 
available at https://kbn.ky.gov/KBN%20Documents/ce.pdf.  The KBN also accepts nursing CE courses offered by providers 
approved by one of the national nursing organizations listed below or any state board of nursing, for the same number of 
contact hours. 
 
NATIONAL NURSING ORGANIZATIONS RECOGNIZED BY KBN FOR APPROVAL OF CE OFFERINGS: 
 

American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) National Association of Nurse Practitioners in  

American Assoc. of Critical Care Nurses (AACN)  Women’s Health (NPWH)  

American Assoc. of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA)               National Assoc. of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP) 
American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)                  National Assoc. for Practical Nurses Education and    
American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)                Service (NAPNES) 
Association of Women's Health, Obstetric, &                     National Assoc. of Licensed Practical Nurses (NALPN) 
Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)                                             National League for Nursing (NLN) 
Other State Boards of Nursing 

 

ONLINE -- ENDURING MATERIALS -- HOME SELF STUDY 

  Regardless of state of residence, nurses may earn all (or any combination of) contact hours from online or self-
study home course offerings approved or accepted by the KBN.  

   
  NOT ACCEPTED AS CE 
  Prelicensure general education courses, either electives or those designated to meet degree requirements.  Activities 
that are part of an employing agency's staff development program designed to provide information related to the work 
setting; on-the-job training, orientation, basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation (BLS/CPR), or equipment demonstrations. 

 

VERIFYING CE/COMPETENCY – *COMPLETION CERTIFICATES 
  

A certificate of attendance/completion must include the following: name of participant; offering title; date; and 
format/location; number of contact hours awarded; the approval source (KBN or other KBN recognized 
approver). At the time of license renewal, an applicant is required to certify that they have met or will meet the 
required CE/competency requirements by October 31st.   
 

A continuing education offering shall not be repeated within a licensure/earning period. 
 

DOCUMENTATION -- RECORDS 

 

Licensees must retain all copies of completion certificate and other documents verifying successful completion of CE/ 
competency requirements for five (5) years.  Copies of mandatory continuing education requirements (e.g. Domestic 
Violence and Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma, should be retained for as long as a nurse holds a current/active license 
in Kentucky.  Licensees do not need to submit documents unless specifically requested to do so.   

 

CE BROKER 
 

CE Broker provides a system for nurses to report and store CE documents.  A “Free Basic Account” is available to all 
licensees at https://cebroker.com/ky/account/basic/. See https://kbn.ky.gov/continuing-education/Pages/CE-Broker.aspx  
for information about CE Broker.  The use of CE Broker is not mandatory at this time unless an individual has been 
selected for the CE Audit or has been specifically requested to submit documents to the KBN. 
 

CE AUDIT -- CE BROKER 
 

Following each licensure renewal period, individuals are randomly selected for the CE audit. Nurses selected for an 
audit will receive an email with information on how to report and upload copies of CE documents to validate 
completion of CE requirements through CE Broker. The Board reserves the right to request proof of compliance with 
CE/competency requirements from licensees at any time.  Additional information on the CE Audit and CE Broker is 
available at https://kbn.ky.gov/continuing-education/Pages/CE-Audit-CE-Broker.aspx.  

 

OFFERINGS COMPLETED THROUGH A CE PROVIDER NOT APPROVED OR RECOGNIZED BY KBN 
 

A nurse may request an individual review for a non-approved continuing education activity that was completed 
during the earning period. A completed Individual Request for Review of CE Activities Application available at 
https://kbn.ky.gov/KBN%20Documents/ce-individual-application-review.pdf all required documents, and $10 non-
refundable fee must be submitted no later than thirty (30) days after the expiration of the licensure/earning period. 
              2/8/24 
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