

# www.kbn.ky.gov

# SANE Renewal Instructions

THE 2024 KENTUCKY NURSE LICENSE RENEWAL PERIOD IS SEPTEMBER 15 THROUGH MIDNIGHT OCTOBER 31, 2024 (EDT). YOU ARE ENCOURAGED TO RENEW EARLY IN THE **RENEWAL PERIOD!** 

Beginning midnight, EDT, September 15, 2024, you may access the online renewal application through your KBN Nurse Portal account to renew your Kentucky SANE credential.

If you hold the Kentucky RN license, the RN renewal has to be completed and renewed prior to completing the SANE renewal application.

You will follow these steps to submit your 2024 renewal:

- Log into your Nurse Portal account.
  - Under 'Your Licenses with Kentucky' there will be a link 'Apply for Renewal' located next to your license/credential.
    - The link will not appear until September 15, 2024, and will be available until October 31, 2024.
      - Once you select the link it will open the 2024 renewal application.
- NOTE: If you have forgot your password to your nurse portal account, you may reset the password by:
  - Selecting 'Forgot your password?' on the Nurse Portal log in screen.
    - Enter your email address.
      - Select 'Submit'.
        - o A link will be emailed to you to reset your password.

SANE credential holders who wish to renew two designations will have to submit a renewal for each designation. The fee is \$50 per designation that is renewed. In order to continue working pursuant to a designation, it must be renewed.

Please note that clicking the 'Make Payment' button on the online application form does not immediately renew your credential. Renewal processing and approval times are dependent on the information provided by the applicant.

You will receive a confirmation message in your nurse portal once your renewal has been processed. You may validate the credential within the KBN Nurse Portal, as well as through the License Verification Portal: https://kybn.boardsofnursing.org/licenselookup

If your credential has not been renewed before midnight, EDT, October 31, your credential will lapse. Working on a lapsed credential is prohibited by Kentucky Nursing Law.

**SANE Renewal Instructions** Page 1 of 6 Practicing as a SANE in Kentucky without a current KY SANE Credential, current multi-state RN license or current KY RN is a violation of Kentucky Nursing Law and subjects the individual to disciplinary action.

If you answered "yes" to the discipline, and/or criminal questions, your credential will not be renewed until KBN receives and reviews the required documents. If this applies to you it is highly recommended that you renew early in the renewal period.

Credential holders are required to maintain a current mailing and email address with KBN per KRS 314.107.

Continuing education contact hours must be earned during the earning period of November 1, 2023 - October 31, 2024. However, you do not have to complete the contact hours before submitting the renewal and paying the renewal fee for your license.

# **Kentucky Board of Nursing**

312 Whittington Parkway, Suite 300 Louisville, KY 40222 (502) 429-3300 kbn.ky.gov

#### SANE (Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner) Credential Renewal

Before submitting your application be advised that ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

Please review the following application requirements and additional information:

- Complete the application and submit the fee of \$50.
  - NOTE: If you hold an additional SANE Credential, and you want to renew it, you will need to complete an additional renewal application for that designation.
    - The fee is \$50 per designation (A/A, P/A).
- Meet the Continuing Education Requirements
  - o You must meet the required continuing competency requirements.
    - o CE must be earned by October 31st (Midnight EDT) of the current renewal period.

### Reporting Criminal Convictions

If you have any criminal convictions, they will need to be reported on your application. The exception to this is traffic misdemeanors, other than DUIs. For information about what qualifies as a criminal conviction please review the Mandatory Reporting of Criminal Convictions.

#### Reporting Action in another Jurisdiction

An applicant shall provide a certified copy of any disciplinary action taken on any professional or business license in another jurisdiction and a letter of explanation with each application.

SANE Renewal Instructions Page 2 of 6 Note: If you have an address change, you will need to submit through the Manage Profile link on the upper left corner of your Nurse Portal Dashboard. This is located in the box above the message center.

### **FAQ**

### What if I am an active member of the military?

Visit our page regarding being in the military for more information.

What documentation do I need to submit if I report a conviction, disciplinary action or pending investigation on my professional license/credential, or admittance to an alternative to discipline monitoring program?

- You are strongly encouraged to apply for renewal of your license early to allow adequate time for review and processing, if you are reporting any of the above occurrences, so that your license does not lapse.
- You must submit the documentation as listed below by close of business on or before October 29th to prevent expiration of your license. If your license is not renewed due to your failure to submit the required documentation, you will have to reinstate your license. You will not be able to work as a nurse using your Kentucky license until the reinstatement process has been completed. The reinstatement process may take 2-3 months, if you allow your license to lapse. Any instance of working on a lapsed nursing license, even if a reinstatement application has been filed, is a violation of KRS Chapter 314 and may subject you to disciplinary action.

Misdemeanor and/or Felony conviction(s), including Driving Under the Influence (DUI) convictions:

- A letter of explanation that describes, in your own words, the decisions, circumstances, and events that led to each conviction.
- An official, certified or attested copy of the court record showing the final disposition for each conviction. You should contact the clerk's office where each conviction was disposed and request a certified or attested copy of the court record/case history. Per KRS Chapter 314.011(21). a conviction is defined as an unvacated adjudication of guilt; pleading no contest or nolo contender or entering an Alford Plea; or entering a guilty plea pursuant to a pretrial diversion order, regardless of whether the penalty is rebated, suspended, or probated.
- An official, certified or attested, copy of the citation or complaint that initiated each conviction and certified or attested copy of each indictment, if applicable. You should contact the clerk's office where each conviction was disposed and

SANE Renewal Instructions Page 3 of 6 08/23/2024

- request a certified or attested copy of the citation/complaint and indictment, if applicable.
- Verification of the status of your compliance with the court-ordered terms for each conviction. If you were required to pay a fine, you should submit proof of paying the fine or having made a payment toward the amount owed. If you were required to attend a class, treatment, etc., you should submit proof of having completed the required class, treatment, etc., or proof of having scheduled the required class, treatment, etc. If you are currently on probation, parole, or diversion, verification of your compliance with probation/parole/diversion, whether supervised or unsupervised, verification of your compliance from the Probation and Parole office is required.

### Disciplinary Action(s):

- A letter of explanation that describes, in your own words, the decisions, circumstances, and events that led to each disciplinary action.
- A certified copy of each disciplinary order. The document(s) should be certified by the regulatory agency responsible for the issuance of the discipline.
- Verification of the status of your compliance with the terms of each disciplinary action. For each disciplinary action where you have successfully completed the requirements, you should submit a certified copy of the notification that you received indicating that you completed the requirements of the disciplinary action. If the terms and conditions of the disciplinary order have not yet completed, you should submit an official certified statement from the regulatory agency that issued the discipline or that is monitoring your compliance with the terms of the discipline regarding the status of your compliance. Alternately, each regulatory agency that issued the disciplinary action or that is monitoring your compliance with the disciplinary action may submit a statement regarding your compliance directly to Board staff by email to KBNDisciplineAlert@ky.gov. If there were no requirements in the disciplinary order, you should contact the regulatory agency that issued the discipline and request verification that you have no requirements for the disciplinary action.

**SANE Renewal Instructions** Page 4 of 6

# Active/Pending Investigation(s) on your nursing, professional, and/or occupational license/certificate/multistate privilege to practice:

- A letter of explanation that describes, in your own words, the decisions, circumstances, and events that led to each investigation.
- A copy of the complaint that initiated the investigation or the documentation provided to you that notified you of the investigation on your nursing, professional, and/or occupational license, certificate, or multistate privilege to practice. The documentation should be certified or attested by the investigating agency and include the allegations being investigated.

# Admission to an Alternative to Discipline or Monitoring Program(s):

- A letter of explanation that describes, in your own words, the decisions, circumstances, and events that led to the admission of the program.
- An official copy of the monitoring agreement, showing the terms of your monitoring. The documentation should be certified or attested by the agency that issued the monitoring agreement.
- Verification of compliance with the monitoring agreement terms. You should contact your case manager or agency contact person of the monitoring program to request a statement verifying your program compliance. Alternately, your case manager or agency contact person may submit a statement regarding your compliance directly to Board staff by email to KBNDisciplineAlert@ky.gov.

#### What if I am in monitoring in Kentucky?

If you are currently in monitoring with the Kentucky Board of Nursing and have questions regarding your eligibility for renewal, please contact your Compliance Nurse Investigator.

# Do my CEs need to be completed before I can renew my license?

- Continuing education contact hours must be earned during the period of November 1, 2023 – October 31, 2024. You do not have to complete the contact hours before submitting the renewal application and paying the renewal fee. Hours must be completed before October 31, 2024.
- Nurses do not need to submit proof of earning their CE at the time of renewal. When you submit your application, you are attesting that you have completed or will complete the continuing competency requirement by midnight on October 31, 2024.

SANE Renewal Instructions Page 5 of 6

- The KBN has partnered with CE Broker so that nurses can upload CE documents into their CE Broker account to provide proof of completion of their CE requirements and to keep track of continuing education. With the exception of nurses selected for the CE Audit, the use of CE Broker is optional but encouraged. The Basic CE Broker package is free for the nurse.
- Additional information can be obtained about Continuing Education requirements on the KBN website.

### What if I need to submit a name change request?

- For information visit our name change page.
- The name change request may be submitted before or after the renewal period. The nurse does not need to wait for the name change to be processed to complete the renewal; however, the renewal application should be completed using the name that is currently on file with the KBN.

### What if I made a mistake in submitting my renewal application?

- The renewal application fee is non-refundable. It is the nurse's responsibility to ensure that they are properly submitting the application prior to submitting the renewal application and paying the renewal fee.
- If you need to make an update to an answer on your renewal, please contact the KBN in writing of the update.

#### Who do I contact for questions about renewals?

- Contact the following KBN branches for additional information:
  - Questions about the renewal process Credentials Branch
  - Questions about continuing education Education Branch
  - Questions about reporting convictions, investigations, or discipline Investigation Branch
  - Questions if you are currently in monitoring Compliance Branch
  - Questions about reporting admission to an alternative to discipline monitoring program – Compliance Branch

For contact information, visit the Contact KBN page.

**SANE Renewal Instructions** Page 6 of 6