APRN Only Licensure

To practice as an APRN in Kentucky, you must maintain:

  • Current RN licensure in Kentucky or another compact state, and
  • Current national certification in a KBN-approved population foci

Practicing without current APRN licensure AND current national certification is a violation of the Kentucky Nursing Law and subjects an individual to disciplinary action.

Applications and documents are reviewed within 14 days. However if you respond "Yes" to the disciplinary or conviction questions it can take up to 3 months for processing your application.

All fingerprint cards and fees received at KBN will be returned to the applicant. Initial fingerprint card and fee of $12.00 must be mailed to the Kentucky State Police at:

Kentucky State Police
Records Branch
1266 Louisville Rd
Frankfort, KY 40601

Choose one of the following:

1. I hold a current RN license in a compact state and am endorsing my APRN license from another state.

2. I hold a current RN license in a compact state and am applying for my initial Kentucky APRN license.

3. I hold a current Kentucky RN license and want to apply for my initial Kentucky APRN license.

4. I hold a current Kentucky RN license and want to reinstate my lapsed Kentucky APRN license.

5. I hold a current compact RN license and want to reinstate my lapsed Kentucky APRN license.


I hold a current RN license in a compact state and am endorsing my APRN license from another state.

Requirements:

Back to Top


I hold a current RN license in a compact state and am applying for my initial Kentucky APRN license.

Requirements:

Back to Top


I hold a current Kentucky RN license and want to apply for my initial Kentucky APRN license.

Requirements:

Back to Top


I hold a current Kentucky RN license and want to reinstate my lapsed Kentucky APRN license.

Requirements:

Back to Top

 

I hold a current compact RN license and want to reinstate my lapsed Kentucky APRN license.

Requirements:

Back to Top


‚Äč