Licensure By Endorsement


***MAINTENANCE NOTIFICATION***

All online applications and online validation will be unavailable on Friday, May 27th at 4:00 p.m. until 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, May 31st. Please be aware and plan accordingly.


Apply for licensure by endorsement if you were licensed in another state or U.S. jurisdiction and want a Kentucky RN or LPN license.

Applications and documents are reviewed within 14 days. However, if you respond "Yes" to the disciplinary or conviction questions it can take up to 3 months to process your application.


Click on the following

If you:

º Were educated outside of the United States or
   educated in Puerto Rico after 
   September 1, 2006

º Are endorsing both, an RN and APRN license.


RN/LPN Requirements

 

NOTE: The endorsement application is valid for six months. You have six (6) months to complete the endorsement process before the application expires; if the application expires before a temporary permit or license has been issued you will have to submit a new application, fingerprint card and fees. Click on the following link to check your Application status after applying to see what is needed to complete the endorsement process.

Requirements for RN/LPN License:

  1. Endorsement Application and $165.00 fee (fees are non-refundable).
    Application is best viewed using Internet Explorer or Firefox

  2. Kentucky Criminal Background Report from the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC).
    KBN will receive an electronic copy of the report, if you request the report online and
    follow the instructions accurately [PDF Format - 201KB].

  3. Fingerprint Card (federal background check) and $14.75 fee payable to KSP.
     
     Please mail the card and fee to:
    • Kentucky State Police
    • Records Branch
    • 1266 Louisville Rd
    • Frankfort, KY 40601

    Click on the following link to request fingerprint card will be mailed within 1-2 business days.
       

 4.   Complete the Kentucky Jurisprudence Exam online after completing the endorsement application.

  5.    Verification of Original Licensure
         (Verification of licensure is required from the state in which you took and passed NCLEX/Boards)

  6.    Transcripts: If you were licensed from one of the following states, you must request your nursing program to send
         KBN an official transcript, with degree and graduation date posted.
                     California* 
                     Connecticut
                     Georgia
                     Hawaii
                     Illinois
                     Kansas
                     Pennsylvania
                     Washington

NOTE:  A temporary permit will not be issued to nurses who completed a program of nursing in and were originally licensed
              in CA until the transcript is received.

             Mail transcript to:  Kentucky Board of Nursing
                                             Attn: Endorsement
                                             312 Whittington Pkwy, Suite 300
                                             Louisville, KY 40222
 

Reporting Criminal History

Click here for more information on reporting criminal convictions.

KRS 314.011(21) defines conviction as an unvacated adjudication of guilt, pleading no contest or nolo contendere, entering an Alford plea, or entering a guilty plea pursuant to a pretrial diversion order regardless of whether the penalty is rebated, suspended, or probated.  

Temporary Permit

Click on temporary permit below:

Paper Application Request Form

The application requires an additional fee when the application is submitted via paper. There is no additional fee if these forms are submitted electronically. Please fill out and submit the request form along with the additional fee.

Paper Application Request Form - Endorsement [PDF Format - 94KB]

 

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

See Also...

Verification of Licensure Form [PDF Format - 96KB]


Contact Us...

Endorsement Contact

Use this contact form if you have questions about the licensure by endorsement process.​​