ittington Pky Ste :
Louisville KY 40222-5172 INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE
www.kbn.ky.gov
502-429-3300

800-305-2042 SANE APPLICATION FOR CREDENTIAL

FAX COPIES OF APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED BY KBN

General Information PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY IN BLACK INK

o Licensure fees and regulatory requirements are subject to change. Fees are NON-REFUNDABLE:
Initial - $120 Reinstatement - $120
¢ Send to the Kentucky State Police (KSP):
1. Completed fingerprint card (see enclosed fingerprint instruction sheet)

2. Check or money order in the amount of $14.75, payable to KSP. Send to:
Kentucky State Police
Records Division
1266 Louisville Rd.
Frankfort, KY 40601

Validation of name change(s) is required if the name on any document received at KBN is different from the name on
the application for licensure. Acceptable validations include a copy of either a:

1. Social security card,
2. Marriage license, OR
3. Court order or divorce decree showing the right to a name change.

You are required to notify KBN within 30 days of an address change. The notification must include:

1. Name
2. Social security number or Kentucky nursing license number

3. New address

The application is valid for one year from the date received at KBN.

Practicing without a permanent Kentucky SANE credential may subject you to disciplinary action by KBN.

It is your responsibility to assure that all documents have been received BEFORE the application for SANE credential
expires.

Section 1: Biographical Data

¢ All information must be provided.
¢ KBN does not distribute/provide email addresses to third parties.

Section 2: Method of Application

o Mark the appropriate method of application:
o0 Initial: You have never held a Kentucky SANE credential.
0 Reinstatement: Your Kentucky SANE credential lapsed, and you want an active SANE credential.

Section 3: Registered Nurse Licensure Information

e Submit a copy of your current compact RN license.
o Provide the state of your compact RN license.
e Provide the expiration date of your compact RN license.
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Section 4: SANE Educational Program Information

o List the name of the approved SANE program you attended.
e Submit verification of completion of SANE program (copies of certificates of completion).

Section 5: Nursing Practice and Primary Residence

¢ Indicate your primary state of residence.

¢ |Indicate if you are practicing ONLY in a military/federal facility.
e Select all jurisdictions in which you currently practice.

o Evidence of primary residence includes:

voter registration,

driver’s license,

O O O

Federal income tax return and/or
o Military Form No. 2058.
DO NOT submit evidence of primary residence unless requested to do so.

Section 6: Disciplinary

e All questions must be answered. If you answer “yes” to any of these questions, your application will not be processed
until the following documents are received:

1. A detailed letter of explanation for each action taken.
2. A certified copy of the Board'’s or other licensing agency’s action.

o Failure to report any action pending or disciplinary action EVER taken on a nursing license or other professional license
may subject you to disciplinary action.

o Failure to report participation in an alternative to discipline/diversion program may subject you to disciplinary action.

Section 7: Criminal History

e All questions must be answered. You MUST REPORT the following and submit the required documents:
1. All felony convictions ever received (submit Certified Court Documents & Detailed Letter of Explanation)

2. All misdemeanor(s), including DUIs, received WITHIN 5 years of the date of application
(submit Certified Court Documents & Detailed Letter of Explanation)

3. All misdemeanor(s), including DUIs, received PRIOR TO 5 years of the date of application (MUST REPORT, but
no documents required)

e NOTE: Traffic violations OTHER than DUIs do not need to be reported.
e If you answered “YES” to any question(s), allow 3 months for all information to be reviewed by KBN.
o Failure to report any criminal convictions EVER received may subject you to disciplinary action.

Section 8: Reinstatement of a SANE Credential

Return to KBN:
° Completed application
. Fee of $120
o Kentucky Criminal History Report, obtained by the Administrative Office of the Courts
. Proof of earning at last 5 hours of continuing education in forensic nursing
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Section 8: Reinstatement of a SANE Credential (Continued)

Send to the Kentucky State Police:

e Completed fingerprint card (see enclosed fingerprint instruction sheet)

e Check or money order in the amount of $16.50, payable to KSP. Send to:

Kentucky State Police

Records Division

1266 Louisville Rd.

Frankfort, KY 40601
NOTE: If the SANE credential has been expired for more than four (4) consecutive license periods, you must provide
evidence of completion of a SANE educational program. The course must be completed during the period your SANE
credential lapsed.

Section 9: Responsibility & Accountability of KY Licensed Nurses

e Please read carefully before signing this application.
¢ Falsification of any information contained herein may be cause for disciplinary action by KBN.

e The portion of nursing law cited in this section relating to KRS 314.021 explains the accountability and responsibility of
all nurses licensed to practice nursing in Kentucky.

e All licensed nurses practicing in Kentucky must adhere to the Kentucky Nursing Laws and regulations, which are
available at http://kbn.ky.gov/laws.htm.

¢ ltis a violation of Kentucky Nursing Law to practice as a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) nurse with an expired
RN license, and/or SANE credential.
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Kentucky Board of Nursing .
312 Whittington Pky Ste 300 Office Use Only

Louisville KY 40222-5172 SEXUAL ASSAULT NURSE EXAMINER

www.kbn.ky.gov

502-429-3300 APPLICATION FOR CREDENTIAL

800-305-2042
APPLICATION FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE AND SUBJECT TO CHANGE
FAX COPIES OF APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED BY KBN

Section 1: Biographical Data

| | ] 1 ] 1 1 ] 1 1 1 1 ] 1 1 ] 1 ] 1 1 ] 1 | ] 1 ] 1 1 |
Last Name (print clearly)

| ] | | ] | | ] | ] ] | | | ] ] | ] | ] | I
First Name (print clearly)

| ] | | | | ] | | ] | ] ] | ] | ] ] | ] | | ] | O Male O Eemale
Middle Name (print clearly)

— - / /

| | | | 1 | I 1 | | | | | | 1 | I 1 | | | U.S. Citizen? O Yes O No
Social Security # (print clearly) Date of Birth

| ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] ] |
Address (print clearly)

| ] ] ] | | ] | | ] | 11 ] I 1 l ] ] ] 11 ] ] I
City (print clearly) State Zip Code (print clearly)

County of Residence (print clearly) Ethnic Group:

O African American O Native American

' ' ' ' ' ' ' ' LI O Asian O Pacific Islander

International Country (not USA) (print clearly) O Multiracial OCaucasian
O Hispanic or Latino/a O Other

International Postal Code (print clearly)

| ] ] | 1 ] ] | 1 ] ] | | ] | | L ] | | L ] | |

Daytime Phone Number (print clearly) Home Phone Number (print clearly)

Email Address (print clearly)
Section 2: Method of Application

If You Have Never Held a KY SANE Credential Fee Complete These Sections Submit
O Initial (S1): $120 Fee 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,9,10 Kentucky Criminal History Report
If You Held a KY SANE Credential Fee Complete These Sections Submit

O Reinstatement (S3): $120 Fee 1,2,3,5,6,7,8,9,10 Kentucky Criminal History Report
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Section 3: Registered Nurse Licensure Information

You must hold a current RN license from Kentucky or a compact state before a SANE credential will be issued. Submit a copy of your current
compact license with this application.

/ /
| ] ] I ] I I I ] I 1 I I 1 I I ]

State of Current Compact RN Licensure Compact RN License # (print clearly) Expiration Date (MM/DD/YYYY)
Section 4: SANE Educational Program Information
Please answer the following questions about the SANE program you attended.

Name (print clearly)

/

| ] ] | ] ] | ] | ] ] | ] | ] ] ] ] | | 11 ] I ] ] | |
City (print clearly) State Month & Year Completed

You must include proof of completion of:
1) A KBN-approved SANE educational program, and 2) the required didactic instruction and clinical practice.

If the course you attended was not located in Kentucky, you must also show proof of having completed continuing education hours specific to Kentucky
legal, forensic, and rape crisis issues. Contact KBN for specific information on out of state programs.

Section 5: Nursing Practice and Primary Residence

Indicate Your Primary State of Residence: O KY O Other: Do you practice nursing ONLY in a military/federal facility? O Yes O No
DO NOT SUBMIT EVIDENCE OF PRIMARY RESIDENCE UNLESS REQUESTED TO DO SO.

Check the box for EACH state in which you currently practice:

OAL OAz OoDcC OoGu Ol OLA O Ml O MT O NH ONY O PA o sb O VA O wi
O AK OCA 0O DE OHI OIN OMA OMN ONC ONJ O OH OPR OTN avi owv
OAR oco OFL OI1A OKs OMD OMO OND ONM OOK ORI aoTXx aovTt Oowy
OAS ocT OGA OID O KY O ME O ms ONE O NV OOR OSC ouTt O WA

Section 6: Disciplinary

If you answer “yes” to any of these questions, your application will not be processed until the following documents are received:

1. A detailed letter of explanation for each action taken. 2. A certified copy of the Board’s action.
Check the appropriate boxes and fill out information for each “yes” answer: If yes, list STATE and YEAR If yes, list STATE and YEAR

Have you ever been denied a nursing license (for reasons
other than failure to pass State Board Exam/NCLEX)? O Yes O No State: Year: State: Year:

Have you ever had any disciplinary action on your nursing
license or your privilege to practice nursing in any
state(s)? O Yes O No State: Year: State: Year:

Do you have disciplinary action or a complaint pending on
your nursing license or your privilege to practice in any O Yes OO No

state(s)? State: Year: State: Year:
Are you currently a participant in a state board/designee
monitoring program including alternative to discipline,
diversion, or a peer assistance program? U Yes [ No State: Year: State: Year:
Has any licensing or regulatory authority in any U.S. state O Yes OO No State: Year: State: Year:

or jurisdicton EVER denied, limited, suspended, probated, . o
revoked, or otherwise disciplined a nursing or other If Yes,type oflicense(s)/certification(s):
professional or occupational license, certificate or multistate
privilege to practice that you held?
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Section 7: Criminal History

You must REPORT: Your application will not be processed until you SUBMIT the required documents listed below:
1.All felony convictions @Ver reCeIVEM. ..........cuiriiiiiiiiiiiic et Certified Court Documents & Detailed Letter of Explanation
2A1l misdemeanor(s), including DUls, received WITHIN 5 years
of the date of application ............ccceoiiiii i Certified Court Documents & Detailed Letter of Explanation
3. All misdemeanor(s), including DUIs, received PRIOR TO 5 years
of the date of @appliCation ...........ccceiiiiiiii e MUST REPORT, but No Documents Required
NOTE: Traffic violations OTHER than DUIs do not need to be reported.
If yes, list STATE and YEAR If yes, list STATE and YEAR
Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor(s)? O Yes O No State: Year: State: Year:
Type of conviction:
If yes, list STATE and YEAR If yes, list STATE and YEAR
Have you ever been convicted of a felony(ies)? O Yes O No State: Year: State: Year:

Since you last applied for or wereissued a Kentucky nursing license, have you had any misdemeanors or felonies? O Yes O No

Section 8: Reinstatement of a SANE Credential

Complete this section ONLY if you are reinstating a previously issued Kentucky SANE credential.

| | ] | | | ] I 1 | ] | |
SANE Credential # (print clearly) Date Your Kentucky SANE Credential Lapsed (MM/YYYY)

1.You must show proof of earning continuing competency requirement for the number of licensure periods since your SANE credential lapsed.

2. If your SANE credential has been expired for more than four (4) consecutive license periods, you must provide evidence of completion of a SANE
educational program before the credential will be reinstated. The course must be completed during the period your SANE credential lapsed.

Section 9: Responsibility and Accountability of KY Licensed Nurses

KRS 314.021(2): All individuals licensed under provisions of this chapter shall be responsible and accountable for making decisions that are based upon
the individual's educational preparation and experience in nursing and shall practice nursing with reasonable skill and safety.

All licensed nurses practicing in Kentucky must adhere to the Kentucky Nursing Laws and regulations, which are available at http://kbn.ky.gov/laws.htm
KRS 314.031(1): It is “unlawful for any person to call or hold herself or himself out as or use the title of nurse or to practice or offer to practice as a nurse
unless licensed or privileged under the provisions of this chapter.”

Section 10: Attestation Statement

| certify that | am the person referred to in the foregoing application for Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner in Kentucky; that | am not in default of a student
loan or | am in repayment status of a student loan administered by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA), that | am not
delinquent in the repayment of a defaulted Nursing Incentive Scholarship Fund award administered by KBN, that all statements contained herein and on
all attachments are true and correct in every respect; and that | have read and understand this application and all requirements stated therein. | further
understand that all information on this application is subject to an audit for verification and that the falsification of any information contained herein will be
cause for disciplinary action. | declare my primary state of residence to be the state as indicated in Section 5 of this application.

Applicant’s Signature

Date

If all requirements for licensure are not met within the time period required by regulation, a new
application must be submitted with the required fee.
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